Saturday, April 22, 2006

Blogging Domain for Sale:

Blogging Domains For Sale

Category: Society > Religion > Catholic Church > Catholocism > The Pope > Blog

Bidding opens at: $75


The Pope (from Greek: pappas, father; from Latin: papa, Papa, father1) is the head of the Catholic Church. He is the Successor of St. Peter as Bishop of Rome. The office of the Pope is called the Papacy; his ecclesiastical jurisdiction is called the Holy See (Sancta Sedes in Latin) or Apostolic See (this latter, on the basis that both St. Peter and St. Paul were martyred at Rome). Early bishops occupying the See of Rome were designated Vicar of Peter (representative of St. Peter); for later popes the more authoritative Vicar of Christ was substituted; this designation was first used by the Roman Synod of AD 495 to refer to Pope Gelasius I, an advocate of papal supremacy among the patriarchs. Many believe Vicar of Christ is more appropriate to the Pope, as Catholics believe he takes the place of Jesus as the visible head of the Church. Marcellinus (died in 304) is first Bishop of Rome which sources show used the title of pope.

In addition to his service in this spiritual role, the pope is also head of state of the independent sovereign State of the Vatican City, a city-state and nation entirely enclaved by the city of Rome. Prior to 1870, the pope's temporal authority extended over a large area of central Italy, the territory of the Papal States. Although the document on which the territorial powers of the Pontificate was based — the so-called Donation of Constantine — was proved to be a forgery in the fifteenth century, the Papacy retained sovereign authority over the Papal States until the Italian Unification of 1870; a final political settlement with the Italian government was not reached until the Lateran Treaties of 1929.

The current Pope is Benedict XVI (born Joseph Alois Ratzinger), who was elected at the age of 78 on 19 April 2005. He succeeds the late John Paul II, who was elected at the age of 58 in 1978.

Pope Benedict XVI is the second non-Italian (after John Paul II) to be elected to the pontificate since Adrian VI, who reigned from 1522-1523.

Bidding will ensue in auction-fashion and will remain open until buyer & seller agree on a final price.

Should you wish to make a "Buy Now" bid, please indicate in your email that your price is final.

Please email all bids/inquires to:

No comments: